What the 28 October 2026 Budget means for solar, batteries and heat pumps
The 28 October 2026 Budget did not extend 0% VAT on installing solar panels, batteries and heat pumps, which still ends on 31 March 2027. It did extend 0% VAT on domestic electricity to the end of June 2027, asked Ofgem to abolish gas standing charges and announced a £100 Household Energy Payment. This guide separates what is confirmed from what is still unpublished.
Updated 28 October 2026 · written by the Clearline guidance team · 7 min read

On this page
- Did the Budget extend 0% VAT on solar panels, batteries and heat pumps?
- Is 0% VAT on electricity extended, and to what date?
- What did the Budget announce for energy bills?
- What is the £100 Household Energy Payment?
- What happens to gas standing charges?
- Is the Boiler Upgrade Scheme still funded?
- What changes for EV drivers?
- What did the Budget leave alone?
- What should you do before 31 March 2027?
- What is still unpublished?
Did the Budget extend 0% VAT on solar panels, batteries and heat pumps?
No. The Red Book lists the return to the reduced rate on energy-saving materials as planned (paragraph 6.215), so the zero rate on installing solar panels, batteries and heat pumps in a home ends on 31 March 2027 and 5% applies from 1 April 2027. It was not made permanent either. Our VAT deadline guide covers the timing and the cost of missing it, and our main VAT guide covers what qualifies.
Two details are unresolved. Heat batteries are added to the 5% list from 1 April 2027, but the legislation has not been published and no Budget document defines a heat battery. And no Budget document says how the 5% rate treats a contract signed, or a deposit paid, before 1 April 2027 for work finished after it. HMRC's VAT Notice 708/6 was last updated on 31 January 2024 and does not cover it.
The date that matters for a job has not moved
From 28 October 2026 to 31 March 2027 is 22 weeks. The Budget did not extend the date, so the useful question is whether your system can be finished by then.
Is 0% VAT on electricity extended, and to what date?
Yes, by three months. The temporary zero rate on domestic electricity in Great Britain, which started on 1 October 2026, has been extended to the end of June 2027 from 31 March 2027. The Budget overview gives 30 June 2027 and the Red Book gives 1 July 2027, so we say the end of June 2027 until the legislation fixes the date. That legislation is due in early 2027, which means the extension is announced but not yet law.
HM Treasury expects the extension to take around £50 off the annual price cap in April 2027, depending on how much electricity a household uses. No Budget document says what applies to electricity VAT after June 2027. The detail is in our electricity VAT guide.
What did the Budget announce for energy bills?
| Measure | What was announced | From when | Status at 28 October 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
0% VAT on domestic electricity | Extended by three months, to the end of June 2027 | Was due to end 31 March 2027 | Needs secondary legislation, due early 2027 |
Household Energy Payment | One-off £100 for council tax bands A to D in England, up to 20 million households | January 2027 | How it will be paid is not published |
Gas standing charges | Government has asked Ofgem to abolish them, with the cost moving into gas unit rates | Aim: end of 2027 or as soon as possible after | No start date and no Ofgem decision yet |
Gas Shipper Obligation | A planned new levy on gas bills, scrapped | Announced 28 October 2026 | Government says it will no longer be implemented |
Electricity standing charges | Government commits to reform them | Details in 2027 | No abolition announced |
Sources: HM Treasury, Budget 2026 document (Red Book), paragraphs 3.3 to 3.6, 3.9, 3.11, 4.21, 4.22, 4.25, 6.23, 6.24, 6.26, 6.27 and 6.31; Overview of tax legislation and rates, paragraph 2.20. Checked 28 October 2026.
The cap itself is tracked on our energy price cap page. The Budget documents give no effect on the cap for 1 January 2027, and Ofgem's own timetable has that announcement by 25 November 2026.
What is the £100 Household Energy Payment?
A one-off £100 for households in council tax bands A to D in England, from January 2027, for up to 20 million households at a cost of £2.6 billion. How it reaches you has not been published: the Red Book describes it as paid into bank accounts, through the council tax system and as a council tax rebate delivered by local authorities. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland receive funding through the Barnett formula to support similar help, and their schemes are not specified. The full picture, including what is unpublished, is in our Household Energy Payment guide.
Get my free quote
Three details. We call or text within one working day to book your free 30-minute design call, on video or by phone if you prefer.
What happens to gas standing charges?
The government has asked Ofgem to abolish gas standing charges on domestic bills in Great Britain, with the fixed costs recovered through gas unit rates instead. The average gas standing charge is about £108 a year, and the aim is delivery by the end of 2027 or as soon as possible after. This is a request to a regulator rather than a dated change, so your bill today is unchanged. What it would mean for your bills, and for heat pump and solar owners, is in its own guide.
Is the Boiler Upgrade Scheme still funded?
Yes. The Budget document says the government will maintain the Boiler Upgrade Scheme at £400 million in 2027-28, rising broadly in line with inflation after that, and that it has launched the Warm Homes Loan Scheme. It also saves £1 billion of capital grant from the Warm Homes Plan without itemising which parts carry the saving, and says the majority of Warm Homes Plan funding for low-income households and social housing, delivered by mayors and councils, is protected.
| Heat pump type | Boiler Upgrade Scheme grant |
|---|---|
Air-to-water heat pump, home not off the gas grid | £7,500 |
Ground source heat pump | £7,500 |
Air-to-air heat pump | £2,500 |
Air-to-water or ground source replacing LPG or oil, home off the gas grid | £9,000 |
Grant values in force since 21 July 2026, from the DESNZ grant notice updated 20 October 2026. The Budget text does not mention any change to grant values. GOV.UK says the extra £1,500 for oil and LPG homes applies until March 2027; the notice gives no end date and the Budget does not address it.
Our Boiler Upgrade Scheme guide has the full rules. The government-backed Warm Homes Loan Scheme is explained on our Warm Homes Loan page; Clearline offers no credit, and that page explains the scheme without arranging it.
What changes for EV drivers?
From 1 November 2026, legislation in Finance Bill 2026-27 will clarify that electricity supplied through publicly accessible and workplace charge points is standard-rated at 20% VAT. Electric vehicle excise duty (eVED), first announced at Budget 2025, starts on 1 April 2028 at 3p a mile for battery electric and hydrogen vehicles and 1.5p a mile for plug-in hybrids. The Budget also promises £100 million over two years to cut costs at local, lower-powered public chargers, coming into effect from spring 2027, and is silent on the chargepoint grant for renters and flat owners. See home versus public charging costs.
What did the Budget leave alone?
| Subject | Budget outcome | Where to read more |
|---|---|---|
Smart Export Guarantee | No Budget measure found | |
Warm Home Discount | No Budget document mentions it; DESNZ's 22 October 2026 release (£150 this winter) stands | |
ECO, business rates on solar, stamp duty for green homes | No Budget measure found | |
Landlord EPC C rule and the Future Homes Standard | No Budget measure found |
No Budget measure was found on these subjects in the Red Book, the Overview of tax legislation and rates or the Policy costings, searched on 28 October 2026. The sources are listed below.
One measure does touch oil-heated homes: tariffs on kerosene heating oil are suspended from 26 November 2026 to 31 December 2028 (Red Book paragraphs 3.17 and 6.29). Our heat pump cost guide has the numbers for a replacement.
What should you do before 31 March 2027?
Treat 31 March 2027 as the date for an install
It is the last day of the zero rate on solar panels, batteries and heat pumps, and the Budget did not move it.
Check the completion date as well as the deposit date
No Budget document says how the 5% rate treats work that straddles 1 April 2027. If your date is close, get the VAT position confirmed in writing before you commit.
Do not wait for the unpublished items
The gas standing charge plan has no start date, and the Household Energy Payment has no payment route yet. Neither changes the install deadline.
A free design call, on video or by phone if you prefer, gives you a written, itemised price with the VAT position and a realistic install date stated up front. Our battery storage page has current package prices.
Get my free quote →What is still unpublished?
| Item | Status at 28 October 2026 |
|---|---|
Last day of 0% electricity VAT | Documents differ: 30 June 2027 in the Budget overview and the Wales Office release, 1 July 2027 in the Red Book and the HM Treasury release. Legislation due early 2027 |
Electricity VAT after June 2027 | Not stated |
Contracts and deposits straddling 1 April 2027 | Not addressed in any Budget document |
Heat battery definition and draft legislation | Not published |
Gas standing charge start date, tariffs covered, mitigation | Not set. We found no Ofgem response on 28 October 2026 |
Household Energy Payment route, payment date, devolved schemes | Not published |
Energy Independence Bill | Due to be introduced shortly; not yet introduced |
GOV.UK was still adding Budget documents when we checked on 28 October 2026, so each item is re-checked before this guide is relied on again.
The Budget and home energy, answered
Did the Budget extend 0% VAT on solar panels and batteries?
No. The zero rate on installing solar panels, batteries and heat pumps ends on 31 March 2027 and 5% applies from 1 April 2027, as the Red Book sets out (paragraph 6.215). It was neither extended nor made permanent.
Is VAT on electricity staying at 0% after March 2027?
Yes, for three months. The 28 October 2026 Budget extended the zero rate on domestic electricity in Great Britain to the end of June 2027, subject to legislation due in early 2027. What applies after June 2027 is not stated in any Budget document.
Is the Boiler Upgrade Scheme safe?
The Budget document says it will be maintained at £400 million in 2027-28, rising broadly in line with inflation after that. It does not mention any change to the grant values in force since 21 July 2026, and it does not address the end date of the extra £1,500 for oil and LPG homes, which GOV.UK lists as running until March 2027.
Who gets the £100 Household Energy Payment?
Households in council tax bands A to D in England, from January 2027, up to 20 million of them. The payment route and exact date are not yet published.
Are gas standing charges being abolished?
The government has asked Ofgem to abolish them and move the cost into gas unit rates, aiming for the end of 2027 or as soon as possible after. There is no start date, consultation or Ofgem decision yet, so it is a request rather than a change.
Does the Budget change the January 2027 price cap?
The Budget documents give no effect on the cap for 1 January 2027, and Ofgem's own timetable has that announcement by 25 November 2026. The Red Book ties the electricity VAT extension to a lower April 2027 cap, by around £50 a year.
Did the Budget change the Smart Export Guarantee?
No Budget measure on the Smart Export Guarantee was found in the Red Book, the Overview of tax legislation and rates or the Policy costings.
Does the Budget change the Warm Homes Loan Scheme?
The Red Book records that the government has launched it. The scheme's caps and rules come from DESNZ's 27 October 2026 factsheet and GOV.UK, not from the Budget. Loans come from the lenders GOV.UK names, not from Clearline, which offers no credit; our Warm Homes Loan page explains the scheme.
See the numbers next: LONGi 530 W panels, installed, or the solar panels guide.
Every Budget fact on this page comes from the Budget 2026 documents on GOV.UK, read on 28 October 2026. GOV.UK was still adding documents that afternoon, so each item is re-checked before it is relied on again, and where a document is silent we say so rather than infer. This is information, not tax or financial advice, and Clearline offers no credit. Every system is installed and commissioned by our own MCS-certified, fully insured installation teams.
Sources
- HM Treasury, Budget 2026 document (Red Book): paragraphs 2.38, 3.3 to 3.6, 3.9, 3.11, 3.16, 3.17, 4.21, 4.22, 4.25, 4.36, 6.23, 6.24, 6.26, 6.27, 6.29, 6.31, 6.204, 6.205, 6.210 and 6.215, accessed 28 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/budget-2026-document/budget-2026-html
- HMRC and HM Treasury, Budget 2026: Overview of tax legislation and rates (OOTLAR), paragraphs 1.76, 1.82, 2.20 and 2.22, accessed 28 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/budget-2026-overview-of-tax-legislation-and-rates-ootlar/budget-2026-overview-of-tax-legislation-and-rates-ootlar
- HM Treasury, Budget 2026 Policy costings, page 12, support for energy bills, accessed 28 October 2026 https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/6ae1883fe4367e5c8b0467df/AB26_Policy_Costing.pdf
- PMO, HM Treasury and DESNZ, news story on gas standing charges, 28 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/government/news/chancellor-abolishes-standing-charges-on-gas-bills-to-make-payments-fairer
- HM Treasury, Budget 2026: Breathing space for today, hope for the future, accessed 28 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/government/news/budget-2026-breathing-space-for-today-hope-for-the-future
- HMRC, VAT Notice 708/6: Energy-saving materials and heating equipment, last updated 31 January 2024, accessed 28 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/guidance/vat-on-energy-saving-materials-and-heating-equipment-notice-7086
- DESNZ, Notice of approved grant categories and values for the Boiler Upgrade Scheme, updated 20 October 2026, accessed 28 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/boiler-upgrade-scheme-regulations-approved-standards-grant-categories-and-grant-levels/notice-of-approved-grant-categories-and-values-for-the-boiler-upgrade-scheme
- GOV.UK, Boiler Upgrade Scheme: what you can get, accessed 28 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/apply-boiler-upgrade-scheme/what-you-can-get
- DESNZ, Warm Home Discount confirmation letters, 22 October 2026 https://www.gov.uk/government/news/households-to-receive-150-warm-home-discount-confirmation-letter
- Ofgem, changes to the energy price cap between 1 October and 31 December 2026, published 26 August 2026, accessed 28 October 2026 https://www.ofgem.gov.uk/news/changes-energy-price-cap-between-1-october-and-31-december-2026
Read next
0% VAT on electricity extended to the end of June 2027, and why the 31 March 2027 install deadline still matters
Electricity VAT extended to the end of June 2027. The install deadline is still 31 March. Dates, sources and gaps.
Read the guide →The plan to abolish gas standing charges: what it means for your bills, heat pumps and solar
A request to Ofgem, aimed at the end of 2027 or later. What is confirmed, and what it means for heat pumps and solar.
Read the guide →The £100 Household Energy Payment: who gets it, when, and what has not been published
£100 for council tax bands A to D in England from January 2027. How it is paid is unpublished.
Read the guide →