The best home batteries in the UK, ranked
Eight systems ranked on the makers’ own datasheets, with the reasons stated; three of them, the Tesla Powerwall 3, the Duracell Dura16 and the Hinen B15, are packages we price, and we say so.
Get my free quote
Three details. We call or text within one working day to book your free 30-minute design call, on video or by phone if you prefer.
or call 07782 219224
- Free 30-minute video design call
- Priced before anyone visits
- Installed by our MCS-certified, fully insured teams
The ranking
Eight batteries, ranked, and how we got there
Ranked for a typical UK home in 2026 on three things: usable storage and power for the money, the warranty terms, and whether you can see a fixed installed price before anyone visits. The Powerwall 3, the Dura16 and the B15 are packages we price; that is an interest, so every reason is on the page for you to weigh.
| Battery, ranked | Best for | The numbers | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
Most homes, with or without solar, and anyone who wants whole-home backup | 13.5 kWh usable, up to 11.04 kW, solar inverter built in, 10 years with 80% retained. Our package from £6,350 installed. | Backup needs a Backup Gateway 2 fitted with it: ask for it to be itemised. | |
The most usable storage in one box, and the lowest price per usable kWh we quote | 14.4 kWh usable, 6.6 kW, 10 years and 8,000 cycles. Our package £4,450 installed with solar, £309 per usable kWh. | Needs a separate hybrid inverter, and our price is for fitting alongside new solar. | |
3. Hinen B15 | A published price with whole-home backup included, and a 12-year term | 13.68 kWh usable, up to six units on one inverter, 12 years subject to Hinen's terms. Our package £5,000 installed, with or without solar, with a free backup gateway. | The battery only: it needs a Hinen A-series hybrid inverter, and the A15 launched in the UK in August 2026, so there is no long UK record. |
A modular all-in-one stack, with an optional DC EV charging module | 5.84 or 8.76 kWh usable per module on one controller, from one module up to a six-module stack, with the inverter in the controller. | Sigenergy states its retained-capacity floor as 60 or 70 per cent at ten years in different documents. | |
5. Fox ESS EQ5000 | Adding capacity in steps, with a long headline warranty | 9.84 to 29.52 kWh across 2 to 6 modules; 12 years on the UK EQ range page. | The warranty term is not stated on the datasheet itself, and it needs a separate inverter. |
6. SolaX T-BAT-SYS-HV-S3.6 | Large high-voltage stacks | 6.6 to 43.1 kWh across 2 to 13 modules, 5.1 to 33.2 kW. | No warranty term on the datasheet; it pairs with a SolaX hybrid inverter. |
7. Enphase IQ Battery 5P | The longest headline warranty we found | 5 kWh usable; 15 years or 6,000 cycles, whichever comes first. | Power output and inverter details are not published in the documents we could reach. |
8. Sunsynk L5.3 | Small low-voltage modules, bought one at a time | 4.79 kWh usable from a 5.32 kWh module. | 10 years or 16 MWh of throughput at 70% end of life, whichever comes first. |
Specifications from each manufacturer's own UK datasheet or product page, as set out in the table below. The Powerwall 3, Dura16 and B15 prices are our own installed package prices, subject to survey; we price no other brand on this page.
The comparison
Eight systems, the same set of numbers
Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the cell says so instead of guessing.
| System | Usable capacity | Power in and out | Warranty | Inverter built in |
|---|---|---|---|---|
13.5 kWh | Up to 11.04 kW on grid and in backup | 10 years, 80% of original usable capacity retained at 10 years in the UK | Yes, integrated, 3 MPPTs, 97.5% solar to grid | |
14.4 kWh out of a 16 kWh module | 6.6 kW, 130 A charge and discharge | 10 years, 8,000 cycles, 100 MWh throughput; retained capacity not published | No, needs a compatible hybrid inverter | |
13.68 kWh usable out of 14.4 kWh at 95% depth of discharge, 1 to 6 units, up to 86.4 kWh rated | 14.4 kW rated, 50 A continuous, up to 16.2 kW, reducing with temperature and state of charge | 12 years, subject to Hinen's warranty terms; 8,000 cycles or more tested | No, works with a Hinen A-series hybrid inverter | |
Fox ESS EQ5000 | 9.84 to 29.52 kWh across 2 to 6 modules, at 90% depth of discharge | 50 A max, 65 A peak for 60 seconds | 12 years on the UK EQ range page; not stated on the datasheet | No |
Sunsynk L5.3 | 4.79 kWh out of a 5.32 kWh module, at 90% depth of discharge | 100 A max, 50 A recommended, 150 A peak | 10 years or 16 MWh throughput at 70% end of life, whichever first | No |
SolaX T-BAT-SYS-HV-S3.6 | 6.6 to 43.1 kWh across 2 to 13 modules, at 90% depth of discharge | 5.1 to 33.2 kW, rising with modules | Not stated on the datasheet | No, pairs with a SolaX hybrid inverter |
5.84 kWh per BAT 6.0 module, 8.76 kWh per BAT 10.0 | 3.0 to 4.6 kW per module; controller 3.0 to 12.0 kW | 10 years, 60% of usable energy retained or a minimum throughput | Yes, Sigen Energy Controller | |
Enphase IQ Battery 5P | 5 kWh usable | Not published in the documents we could reach | 15 years or 6,000 cycles, whichever comes first, the longest headline term found | Not published in the documents we could reach |
Read from each manufacturer's own UK datasheet or product page. Ranges are wide and revisions change: your own quote names one exact model, so ask for the datasheet for that model. Three of these eight, the Powerwall 3, the Dura16 and the B15, are packages we price; the rest are named for factual comparison only, not as an offer.
Two names worth a straight answer
GivEnergy, and myenergi Libbi
GivEnergy: rise and fall, not a current option
For much of the early 2020s GivEnergy was one of the best known names in UK home batteries, British headquartered and fitted in large numbers. GivEnergy Ltd entered administration on 9 April 2026 and ceased trading, with unsecured creditors owed over £17,000,000 and no buyer confirmed as of late May 2026. Its datasheets went with the business, which is why it has no place in the ranking: a warranty is only worth the company standing behind it, and GivEnergy's 12-year term, on paper one of the stronger ones on the market, was void within three years of being introduced. What owners should do now.
myenergi Libbi
myenergi's Libbi is a newer modular battery in the UK market. We do not yet have a verified UK datasheet to place it on the same numbers as the eight above, so it is named here rather than ranked, and we would rather say that plainly than guess at a spec.
Match the box to the house
A verdict per household type
High evening load, an EV or a heat pump
The power headroom means nothing trips when the car, the oven and the shower coincide, and 27 kWh covers a long evening.
Powerwall 3 + Expansion, from £10,850New solar and a battery together
The most usable storage per box at the lowest price per kWh we quote. A bigger house can double it: two units, £8,900.
Duracell Dura16, £4,450 with solarNo solar, or solar you already have
Sold with or without solar and coupled alongside an existing inverter, so a working array stays where it is.
Tesla Powerwall 3, from £6,350Whole-home backup on a published price
A free backup gateway comes with every B15 install, so backup covers the whole house, with or without solar. Two units, £9,800.
Hinen B15, £5,000Start small and add later
Expansion units can be added to a Powerwall 3 later, up to three. Modular stacks such as SigenStor, Fox ESS and SolaX grow the same way.
Powerwall 3 now, from £6,350
The six packages we price
Powerwall 3, Dura16 and B15, side by side
Installed price, price per usable kWh, warranty and backup, read from the same data as our calculators.
| Installed price | £5,000 | £9,800 | £4,450 | £8,900 | from £6,350 | from £10,850 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Per kWh stored | 8.3p | 8.2pLowest | 8.5p | 8.5p | 12.9p | 11.0p |
| Per usable kWh | £365 | £358 | £309 | £309 | £470 | £402 |
| Usable storage | 13.68 kWh | 27.36 kWh | 14.4 kWh | 28.8 kWh | 13.5 kWh | 27 kWh |
| Warranty | 12 years | 12 years | 10 years | 10 years | 10 years | 10 years |
| Backup | Whole-home with the SmartBox gateway | Whole-home with the SmartBox gateway | Discussed on your call | Discussed on your call | Requires a Backup Gateway 2 | Requires a Backup Gateway 2 |
| Sold | With or without solar | With or without solar | With solar | With solar | With or without solar | With or without solar |
| See the B15 | See two B15 | See the Dura16 | See two units | See the Powerwall 3 | See the Expansion |
Per kWh stored is the installed package price divided by everything the battery can store if it fills and empties once a day for its whole manufacturer warranty; per usable kWh is the price divided by the datasheet usable capacity alone. Both are arithmetic on the prices above, not manufacturer figures.
On our calculator's opening settings (£150 a month on electricity, 12p export, charging at 8.5p off-peak), a Powerwall 3 on its own is worth about £707 a year, a Hinen B15 on its own about £712 a year and a Dura16 with 10 panels about £1,616 a year. What each package is worth, and the payback.
Get the right battery priced for your home
Three details. We call or text within one working day to book your free 30-minute video design call.
What sits inside the price
Cost per usable kWh is the right first comparison and a poor last one: it ignores power rating, warranty floor and backup hardware. See what a home battery costs, and what moves the number →
Every installation is carried out by our teams, who hold:
Best home battery questions, answered
Which home battery is best in the UK?
It depends on the house, which is why the ranking above says what each one is best at. The Tesla Powerwall 3 leads on continuous power at up to 11.04 kW with an integrated solar inverter. The Duracell Dura16 gives the most usable capacity in one box at 14.4 kWh. The Hinen B15 is the one with a free whole-home backup gateway and a 12-year term. Fox ESS, SolaX, Sunsynk and Sigenergy are modular, so you buy in smaller steps and add later. Match the power rating to what your house draws at once and the capacity to your evening usage, then compare cost per usable kWh.
What is the difference between usable and nameplate battery capacity?
Nameplate is the energy in the cells; usable is what the battery management system actually lets you take out, because a reserve is held back to protect cell life. Sunsynk publishes 5.32 kWh nominal and 4.79 kWh usable on the L5.3. Duracell publishes 16 kWh and 14.4 kWh on the Dura16. Hinen publishes 14.4 kWh and 13.68 kWh on the B15. Sigenergy runs its modules at 100% depth of discharge, so the gap is small. Always price the usable figure, never the number on the box.
Do I need a battery with a built-in inverter?
Not necessarily, and it is a trade rather than an upgrade. An integrated system such as the Powerwall 3 or Sigenergy SigenStor means fewer components and one warranty. A battery-only product such as the Dura16, Hinen B15, Sunsynk L5.3, SolaX T-BAT or Fox ESS EQ pairs with a separate hybrid inverter, which can be replaced independently when it fails.
How many kW does a home battery need to deliver?
Enough to cover what runs at the same time on a winter evening. A single Powerwall 3 delivers up to 11.04 kW, a Dura16 6.6 kW, and a single modular battery module around 3 kW with more added per module. If the battery's continuous output is below your simultaneous load, the shortfall is imported from the grid at the full unit rate no matter how much capacity is sitting unused.
Who does the Sigenergy SigenStor suit?
A home that wants one modular stack with the inverter built into the controller, and the option of DC EV charging from the same system later. It starts at a single 5.84 or 8.76 kWh module and grows a module at a time. We do not publish a SigenStor package; our SigenStor review covers what it is and how it compares with the packages we price.
Should I avoid a brand because another manufacturer went under?
Avoid the assumption that the manufacturer warranty is your only protection instead. GivEnergy Ltd entered administration on 9 April 2026 and ceased trading, and no further hardware warranties are honoured by it, which left owners relying on the workmanship cover on their installation instead. That is a reason to check the workmanship guarantee on every quote from every brand, whether it is insurance backed, and who the insurer is.
Get my free quote
Takes about two minutes. We call or text within one working day to book your free 30-minute video design call at a time that suits you. We design it around your roof and your numbers, and our MCS-certified, fully insured installation teams install it.





